Railfuture Election of Board of Directors - 2014

Election closed on 19/04/2014 - election results were announced on 10/05/2014
Election results were announced in public at the national AGM in Sheffield by the electoral returning officer and in Railwatch magazine
Board of 10 directors. Chairman is elected annually. Other directors have a three-year term and three directors retire each year by rotation.

There were 2 election categories on this occasion, but only one was being contested.

The totals for the election are were follows:

Ballots submitted  419
* Electronically  178
* Postal  241
Duplicated  0
Spoiled  0
Number of votes cast  1201
Note: some voters did not use all of their available votes.

Category: Chairman (term: one year)

  • There was only one nomination for this vacancy - Elected unopposed
Candidate Votes  Outcome 

Category: Director (term: up to three years)

  • There were 6 candidates to fill 3 vacancies - Members voted for a maximum of THREE candidates
Candidate Votes  Outcome 
1.Jerry Alderson221ELECTED
3.Trevor Garrod189NOT ELECTED
4.Andrew MacFarlane182NOT ELECTED
5.Ian McDonald113NOT ELECTED
6.Wendy Thorne208ELECTED

Candidates are listed above in alphabetical order

Candidate statements can be viewed or downloaded.




Election managed by: Chris Bates, National Election Returning Officer, chris.bates@railfuture.org.uk